A Daughter of Two Worlds

The professional world I am trying to carve out for myself is an odd one and sometimes I wonder if I am doomed to be forever a daughter of two different worlds of thought.

As this blog proclaims my passion is history and I believe everyone should easily have access to it. However, I elected to pursue a Masters of Library and Information Science and not a Masters of Arts in History or even Public History. Why did I do this?

Well one word: Archivess

Let’s make that two words: Digital Archives

I believe that both creating digital archives focused on digital preservation and digitization of print materials will bring history to the people where they are — online.

I was turned on to this idea actually in a class categorized as an introduction to the field of Public History during my undergrad. I worked as an intern in both a traditional archive setting creating finding aids and a digital archive (we called it a digital memory project). I loved my work at the digital archive and it brought me the library and information science world.

However, when I dig into the archival world through blogs and tweets I feel as if archivists are viciously defending their profession from others like public historians. It gives me an uneasy feeling since I seriously considered going down that path or even pursuing both an MA in Public History and a MLIS.

My doubts have been eased to a degree by a recent post in The Signal. Butch Lazorchak “daydream[ed]  about a time (ideally in the not-so-distant future) when librarians, archivists and museum professionals rule the world.” I too daydream about such a time especially when these three groups release embrace each other as all being Information Professionals and not pointing out the differences of our day to day operations.

I hope as a proceed especially in the digital preservation area of the profession that I will meet liked minded collaborators and get to work with a wide range of my fellow LAM brethren.

1 Comment

Filed under Digital Archives, Professional musings, Public History

One response to “A Daughter of Two Worlds

  1. I just added your web page to my bookmarks. I enjoy reading your posts. Thank you!
    http://www.smallbusinessplansoftware.net/

Please tell me what you think

